Decisions…

In the past few years there have been numerous opportunities and we’ve made numerous decisions. But not everything always went the way we hoped for. You have to try things to see if it works.

More often than not things didn’t work out. Rejection, disappointments, criticism, it’s simply part of it all and it’s something you get used to. Some things turned out to be way too laborious and time-consuming and didn’t bring the results that we hoped for. People we’ve met turned out not to be as genuine or professional as they first seemed to be and besides that, there are always people who try to have a negative influence on you. And sometimes things didn’t work out, but we never found the reason why.
Most important is how you deal with this all. It may sound very negative, but it’s not. It all made us learn a lot. I’m not saying that it’s always easy, we sure do vent at times. That simply is necessary to get rid of the negativity and to be able to move on. The negative things happening brought a constant awareness of we stand for and what we’re grateful for. It’s a trigger to keep trying, make new decisions to reach the goals we set. And it’s a trigger to try to keep doing the right things, treat people the way we want to be treated, no matter what happens. Everything that happened in the past two and a half years (both positive and negative), shaped the way we work now and made us work more effectively, focus on what does work, focus on the positive things happening and move on when things don’t work out.

To give an example. The tours of The Netherlands. In my previous blogs I wrote about the tour more often. But why The Netherlands? It’s simply because the support in The Netherlands is growing and booking gigs in The Netherlands appeared to be easier than booking gigs in Ireland/UK. Like I mentioned in my previous blogs, expenses need to be covered. It’s just not possible to tour without paid gigs. And this is something that works very well.

The support in other countries is growing as well. The US for example. More often we get the question when Robb will come over to the US for a tour. We’d love to do a tour there, but we have to be realistic… It’s not as easy as that. Despite the growing support in the US, there’s not enough of a fan base at the moment to do that.  The expense of travelling and the vastness of the country cause many dilemmas when considering a tour.

Our main focus areas are Ireland, the UK and The Netherlands, simply because things are working out best in these countries at the moment.
That doesn’t mean we are ignoring other countries. We’re trying to spread the word in other countries as well, but it simply takes a lot of time to make people aware of Robb’s music. Hopefully we can expand the tours to other countries in the following years. Work in progress!

This is just one of the many examples I can give.
We will just continue doing what we love doing… Robb will continue making great music and I will continue helping out on spreading the word.
There have been numerous opportunities and we’ve made many decisions. I’m sure various options will follow and we will make the best decisions we can in the future…
Decisions….Robb wrote a song about it, called The Best Decision.
It’s about making the right choices at the time and being able to stand by them, even if they don’t work out the way you hoped for.

 

Lyrics:

I went looking for a winning horse, put my money on its back
Now I’m struggling to stand by it, and it was all the coin I had
I won’t look away
I’ll be man enough to stay

I am standing tall in the face of defeat, I will stick to my goal
And if I find myself alone, remote, I won’t be swallowed in my doubt
I won’t look away
I’ll be man enough to stay

I’m an honest man with an honest heart
I will choose my fate, I won’t be ripped apart
I’m holding onto what I’ve got

Overreaching in the dark, out sourced and ill-equipped
I won’t be following the rest, I just want to do my best
I’ll  be holding onto what I’ve got

I’m an honest man with an honest heart
I will choose my fate, I won’t be ripped apart
I’m holding onto what I’ve got

I am an honest man with an honest heart
– Beat me up broken battered bruised and I’ll be coming back for more
I will choose my fate, I won’t be ripped apart
– Aloud, I’ll cry that I’ll get by without a chain around my neck
I’m holding onto what I’ve got
I’ll be holding onto what I’ve got
I’m holding onto what I’ve got

And if all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you

If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you
If all is lost then I’ll be holding on to you

 

A quote to end this blog with…While writing this blog, one of my favourite quotes came to mind. It’s a quote by Thomas A. Edison:
“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

 

3 thoughts on “Decisions…

Leave a Reply

