Bacon pancakes and stroopwafels

Stroopwafels…those of you who have ever visited The Netherlands will probably know what stroopwafels are. It’s a typical Dutch treat. A stroopwafel is a waffle made from two thin layers of baked dough with a caramel-like syrup filling in the middle.
When I was a child my mum went to the market every week on Tuesday. There was always a stroopwafel vendor making and selling fresh stroopwafels. During school holidays my mum always took me and my sister with her to the market to treat us on stroopwafel crumbs. It’s a memory I still have, because it was something I was looking forward to when we had school holidays. What a treat!

You might be wondering what stroopwafels have to do with Robb Murphy and the behind the scenes stuff…
Well…a lot! First of all…Robb and the band just love treats!
When they came over to The Netherlands for the first time we treated them to stroopwafels. And while they were here, we let them taste more typical Dutch food, like Dutch pancakes, ontbijtkoek (literally translated breakfast cake, which is a spiced cake, often spiced with cloves, cinnamon, ginger, succade and nutmeg) and stamppot (Mash Pot in English, which is a traditional Dutch dish made from a combination of potatoes mashed with one or several other vegetables, sometimes also with bacon).

Result? Robb and the band experienced serious stroopwafel withdrawal after returning home from a tour and an online ‘Who Makes The Best Pancake’-competition….
I’ll let you decide which pancakes look the tastiest!

Pancakes

The first 3 pictures are from Robb. You can see that he’s getting quite experienced at baking pancakes now (just for the record…I left the first pictures he posted out, because I don’t know what he was doing, but you could hardly call them pancakes).
Picture number 4 is from Alan Ladd, picture number 5 is from David Bennington, picture number 6 is from Kevin Carlisle and I made the pancakes in picture number 7.
Maybe not all fair that I put a picture of my own pancakes in too, because I have years of experience in baking pancakes. I do like winning though!

Another result is that I can’t bake pancakes anymore without having this song stuck in my head, thanks to Kevin who brought up this song while eating bacon pancakes….:

I think Robb and the band are used to living without the Dutch treats by now. In the first months after the tour I saw random pictures showing up on Facebook of them finding stroopwafels in stores in Northern Ireland, but I haven’t seen those pictures for a while now.
Thankfully there is another tour coming up in October. The tour and the treats that come along with it, will sure be something everyone can look forward to. I’ll make sure I have stroopwafels with me when I go to collect them from the airport.

Here’s a silly video to end this blog with…Dave proving to be an excellent pancake baker!

Leave a Reply

