Downtime

It’s Saturday…weekend, time to relax. It’s chilly outside. This morning it was snowing, but the snow now turned into rain. I just turned up the heating and made a big pot of tea. Time to write a blog.

The new year has started.
Behind the scenes plans are being made for this year.
One more single and video will be released from the album ‘Sleep Tonight’ and Robb is making plans to record a new album.
There are no big events planned in the near future. We’re having a bit of downtime which we’re using to catch up and focus on what we didn’t have time for during the past year. Time for Robb to write songs, time to do research and find new opportunities and more time to just relax…

Crocheting (yes, I’m a big crochet lover!) and listening to music is my way to relax. I love to cuddle up on the couch with a big mug of coffee or tea. There’s always an unfinished ‘crochet-project’ to keep me busy. To me crocheting is like meditation, it relaxes me and it’s a way to express my creativity. When I’m crocheting I’m always listening to music. Right now I’m listening to the album ‘If I was’ by The Staves. I downloaded that album months ago, but I didn’t start listening to it until a couple of weeks ago. I’ve been listening to it a lot ever since.

I’m a big music lover and so is Robb.
I listen to all kinds of music, from classical music to rock and everything in between, new music, but also music from the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and 00’s.
Often I’m looking for new music. There is such a great amount of talent out there. I prefer listening to music that usually isn’t being played on the big radio stations. Thankfully there’s the internet and there are numerous ways for artists to spread the music. I’ve been finding a lot of new music in the past few years, due to the work I’m doing behind the scenes for Robb. We found a lot of blogs, magazines and radio shows that do pay attention to new music and there are so many more great sources like YouTube, Soundcloud, Bandcamp etc. to find new music.
We often share links to new music with each other. Last week Robb was all into listening to new music and the idea came up to make a playlist on YouTube of music we like a lot and are listening to at the moment.

Over to you! You can contribute to this playlist as well.
Click on the link below, save the playlist and you’ll get permission to add videos to it.
Add your favourite music, share what you are listening to at the moment. Surprise us! We’d love to listen!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4coVYmTkrNBc8x18GmJA4LvbJ0cOS0vc&jct=W3CuH8dbnB0icLZWgTMTfBfdR5_grQ

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Downtime

  1. niviews

    I couldn’t agree more about hunting to find great music out there, here in Northern Ireland our radio choices are truly terrible. Its either country music or insipid chart stuff where people who cant sing use an autotune mic to convince us they can. Im in my 40s now but my sadness about the state of music played on commercial radio isn’t connected to that at all as I love the harder edged stuff, rock, breakbeat, electronica and more, but what’s on the radio stations sounds like nursery rhymes haha. Anyway, a few recommendations….. In terms of rock check out Young Guns from the UK who have a fresh sound. Foxes and Churches are excellent indie pop (which I’m sure you’ve heard) but if you like Ellie Goulding try the album by Lena called Crystal Sky. Very similar. On a folk rock slant try Judah And The Lion – Twenty Something’s album. And Jack Savorettis new single Catapult is beautiful. If its more pop you want, try the album by Vanbot called Perfect Storm, and more rock try Love Amongst Ruins album Lose Your Way. There are hundreds of great bands and albums out there but you gotta look very hard.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kirsten Post author

      Thank you so much for reading and for taking time to give us your recommendations! I totally agree, there are so many great bands/musicians/songwriters out there… You have to look very hard, but there are really great websites to discover new music. Personally I really like Bandcamp to look for new music. Anyway, I’m happy that you took time to read this blog and to respond and of course I hope you’ll take a moment to check out Robb Murphy’s music too 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

