Nincompoop

The title of this blog might make you wonder if I’m alright…
Yes I am, it’s just that I learned a new English word yesterday, nincompoop…
Robb said it yesterday. During a conversation online he mentioned being a nincompoop. Nincompoop?? What’s a nincompoop?? A very strange and very wrong sounding word it is to me! As you’ve probably read in my previous blogs, I’m from The Netherlands, English isn’t my native language. We always understand each other, but every now and then a word is being mentioned that I never heard of before…which happened yesterday. I even had to check if it was appropriate to use that word as a blog title!
I really didn’t have a clue what nincompoop means. Explanation was needed for me to understand that nincompoop means, ‘silly or foolish person’.
The word made me curious though. Where does it come from? I just spent half an hour reading about it and the origin of nincompoop is a matter of speculation. There are numerous theories to find about that word. Some say it’s coming from the Latin phrase ‘non compos mentis’, meaning “not of sound mind”, others suggest that it is coming from the French phrase ‘ne comprend pas’, meaning ‘he does not understand’. It can also come from the Dutch word ‘poep’, meaning  ‘poop’.
Anyway, I will probably never forget this word. It’s the most silly English word I ever heard.

Onto the next ‘foolish’ subject.
‘To Be A Fool’ single release! Robb will release ‘To Be A Fool’ on April Fools Day along with a video filled with silly photos and video snippets from the band and fans from around the world.
The single is a remix of the original track taken from the album ‘Sleep Tonight’, featuring the Ulster String Quartet. Together with Alan Ladd, Robb also recorded an acoustic version of ‘To Be A Fool’.
This acoustic version came about accidentally. Alan was working on a dance remix of ‘To Be A Fool’. He was trying out some chords on the piano and it sounded nice on just the piano. They decided to record it and the result is an amazing acoustic version of ‘To Be A Fool’.
You can listen to both songs now!

‘To Be A Fool’ will be available on Bandcamp, iTunes, iTunes Music Player, Google Play Music, Amazon and other online music stores from the 1st of April.

Time to end this blog and why not do that with more silliness?
Robb was bored last week, so he took a lovely picture of himself…

Robb

A day later it was St. Patrick’s Day and I think Robb was still bored or simply had too much time on his hands…

 

Have a great week! And…remember to smile and do something silly…be a nincompoop!

Leave a Reply

