Lend us your ears!

Music is the most popular art form in the world. It’s present in all cultures and brings people together. Music is everywhere. It’s by far is the most commonly experienced form of art, but it’s also an art form we all take for granted. Society seems to see music as a commodity, rather than a really important or vital aspect of our lives. Most people claim that they love music, music really is for everyone. We all identify with music and our musical tastes make us who we are and how the world sees us. If you ask someone if he/she likes music, you will (almost) always get a positive response, because there aren’t many people who don’t like music. But how many people truly listen to music and appreciate all that it has to offer?

I’ve always been a music lover but I never really thought about the production side of music and I sure wasn’t aware of how much time and work goes into the creation and production of a song. Little did I know when I started working on the music with Robb Murphy five and a half years ago…

That definitely has changed! I feel privileged to have seen and heard the development of many songs over the past years. It has made me appreciate music even more than I already did, because I learned to listen to music in a completely different way. I used to listen to music in a more passive way than I’m doing now. And when I was actively listening to music, I would listen with a focus on lyrics and the overall arrangement. A song would affect me or not.

I still listen to a lot of music and often it’s just passive listening, like we all do. For example listen to music while doing dishes, driving, doing laundry, and cleaning the house. But over the past five years that has changed and I adopted and learned active listening. Now I take much more time to truly listen to music without any distractions and by doing that I take so much more out of a song than I used to do and I appreciate music so much more.

Over to you. How do you listen to music? Do you take time to actively listen to music and how does it affect you? Feel free to leave a comment!

Since we’re on the subject, here’s your chance to actively listen to music! 😉
Robb posted this message on Facebook a couple of days ago and your input would be much appreciated.

https://www.facebook.com/TheRobbMurphy/posts/2005504622823503

Here’s what Robb says himself:
Next Time – A song we have been touring with for a few years and have already various live radio and TV performances recorded. This year a new studio mix will be released, I love the technical side of recording and production and so far I have recored and mixed the majority of our releases. I have recently been working with Lennart Gretenkord, a great guy and producer from Germany who most recently mastered our Christmas single, ‘North Star’. (www.lennartg.com & facebook.com/lennartgaudio). We thought it would be great to have a sort of ‘mix off’ using Next Time. All the instruments were recorded at my studio and then Lennart and I both made our separate mixes.

So now it is over to you ! We would love to hear the feedback on which mix you prefer, of course they are both equally awesome (lol), but we would love some feedback and interaction from you. Have a listen on your phone, laptop, speakers, car and any other source and see which you think you prefer in terms of sound, vibe, energy, warm etc. or just which most you gravitate to, no need to get too technical.

All feedback, comments, are very welcome and please feel free to share to anyone who may be interested !

Thanks, Robb

Listen to the song below and please let us know which mix you prefer! It will only take 6 minutes of your time… We would love to hear your input/feedback!

 

Schermafdruk 2018-02-18 19.02.48

Leave a comment