Sleep Tonight

It’s a beautiful sunny lazy Sunday out here. I’m sitting outside in the garden, enjoying fresh air and coffee. While drinking coffee I’m suddenly thinking about something that happened this week…a story worth to share.

Thursday… a beautiful sunny day. I worked in the morning and I was on my way home when I saw an old lady with a rollator standing at the sidewalk. She was looking around and seemed confused. Our eyes met, she started to smile and asked me if I knew where the nursing home was. The nursing home was close, just a few streets away, but instead of explaining her how to get there, I decided to walk with her. She seemed so confused. I told her that I would walk with her. That’s not what she had in mind, she didn’t want me to walk with her and apologised for bothering me, but I ignored her protesting and started walking with her. Along the way, the old lady kept talking. It turned out that she had left home early to go to her physio therapist. Usually a friend would bring her by car, but that day she decided to walk because the weather was so beautiful. On her way back she got lost and didn’t know the way back to the nursing home anymore. She went on telling me what she was up to that day. It was nearly lunch time and then she had planned an afternoon of playing bridge with friends. We soon got to the point where she could see the nursing home. She looked at me and while breathing a sigh of relief she thanked me for walking with her, said that I made her day and again she apologised. I told her not to worry at all and said that I enjoyed that 10 minute walk with her.

While walking home I kept thinking about the old lady… she was so confused. I don’t know how long she had been walking around that morning before I stopped and helped her, but I was glad that she made it to the nursing home safely. Situations like this make me stop and think. We all take so many things for granted, but how fragile we actually are… health, both physical and mental, is something so precious and valuable…

Mental Health…something you read and hear a lot about at the moment. It seems that people are talking about it more and it seems that mental health awareness is increasing. It’s still not enough though. For various reasons, too many people aren’t getting the help they so much need and the stigma around mental health is still there.

Which brings me to the music…
The title track from Robb Murphy’s second album, Sleep Tonight featuring The Ulster String Quartet is being released with the support of The Samaritans. It aims to raise awareness for mental health and the importance of communication rather than suppressing the condition. The single will be released on the 1st of June, all proceeds will go to the Samaritans Belfast. ‘Sleep Tonight’ the single, is already available for pre-release through the following links:

https://itunes.apple.com/album/id1377026483?ls=1&app=itunes

https://robbmurphy.bandcamp.com/album/sleep-tonight-feat-ulster-string-quartet-single

The animation video of the full album version created by Maria Becvar was released last Monday to mark the beginning of Mental Health Awareness week.

To celebrate the release an event (in support of The Samaritans) is planned on Sunday the 3rd of June along with the Ulster String Quartet, to help raise awareness of mental health issues through video and song. This event will take place at 101 Donegal Street, Belfast. Support by Randall Stephens Hall and Brigid O’Neill. Tickets are available now through the following link:

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/robb-murphy-the-ulster-string-quartet-tickets-45552811686

Time to end this long blog…
Not with a song, but with a bit of news.

‘Sleep Tonight’ was track of the day on Hotpress!
Click on the image to read the article!

Hotpress Track of the Day: 'Sleep Tonight' by Robb Murphy

Again, below are the links to pre-order ‘Sleep Tonight’. All proceeds will be donated to The Samaritans Belfast.
https://itunes.apple.com/album/id1377026483?ls=1&app=itunes

On Bandcamp the single comes with an extra track, ‘Bound For Your Arms’ – live for Sessions In The House.

Of course we hope that a lot of people will download the single thereby enabling the Samaritans to do many more great things!  And, we are hopeful that many people will watch the video, showing them the way to help. We ask you to help spread the word… so please tell your friends and your family and ask them to pass it on too!
Thank you for sharing the music!

 

 

 

1 thought on “Sleep Tonight

Leave a comment