North Star

North Star

The fire is wild tonight
Its dancing in your eyes
I move a little close
And say what no one knows

You taught me all I know
How love can grow and grow
I’m just a lonely soul
You know what no one knows

Save me from this quivering heart
Summer is kind and winter is cruel
Guide me and I’ll follow your light
I’ll be your North Star too

We’ll put our big coats on
And wrap our heads in wool
Then brave the icy snow
We’ll go where no one goes

And I may make you smile
A view that will never tire
We’ll hold each other close
And say what no one knows

Save me from this quickening dark
Summer is kind and winter is cruel
Guide me and I’ll follow your light
I’ll be your North Star too

Now silence falls on night
The world is out of sight
Our heavy eyes appear
Our Christmas Day is near

North Star, a song to close out the year. Robb wrote the song just weeks ago and decided to record it. The result was so good that we decided to share it with the world. A surprise release to celebrate the holiday season!

Have a listen! The song will take you on a musical journey through a glistening winter landscape; a timeless song guaranteed to bring a warm, fuzzy and festive feeling!


It’s exactly what I love about this time of the year….a warm, fuzzy and festive feeling… The house is warm and cosy with the Christmas decorations being up. A place to relax with a warm cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate; a place to escape from the year-end madness.

Year-end madness…December… I have a love-hate relationship with December.
I really love decorating the house and the tree. Decorating the tree is always an exciting event. It’s a tradition to buy one new ornament for our tree each year. The children, who are teenagers now, still love that tradition! Our tree is a mixture of ornaments and almost all ornaments have a story or a memory attached to them, which makes our tree so special. I really love the warmth and cosiness of the house around this time of the year. Candles lit at night, Christmas lights on, curled up on the couch under a nice warm blanket and just relax.

But there’s also the year-end madness… At work pressure is building up… like there’s no time left and everything needs to be finished before the year ends. Next to that there are so many events and obligations; expectations are high. I’m always in two minds about everything during the December month. I’m enjoying the vibe, but I don’t like the amount of events… All events are nice, but they all seem to be taking place at the same time, everything squeezed into one month…  I’m always finding it a big challenge to live up to all expectations during the December month, because I don’t like to disappoint anyone. Every year again I wonder why we can’t just spread all of these events throughout the year…how good would that be?!

On the other hand I really love Christmas morning, unwrap our Christmas presents, have a late breakfast in our pyjamas before getting dressed and ready for family visits. I love watching films with the children. Yes, very cliché, but ‘Home Alone’, ‘How the Grinch stole Christmas’ and ‘Elf’ are sure being watched in this house! I love the atmosphere that comes with Christmas. People always seem to be more kind, caring and thoughtful towards each other, but it always makes me wonder why we need Christmas for that to happen. We collectively create this atmosphere and I really love it, but…why can’t we collectively create this atmosphere throughout the whole year? Being kind, caring and thoughtful doesn’t have to be limited to Christmas…

These conflicted thoughts and feelings always continue until New Year’s Eve. I like the excitement of ending a year and the fresh start a new year always brings. I like to think back of the year that has passed, count my blessing and think back of all the memories we’ve made and I like to look forward to all what is to come in the new year. On the other hand I’m happy that I survived the December month and everything turns back to normal again. I can’t wait to take down all Christmas decorations after New Year’s day, but at the same time I always feel a bit melancholy. One last look at the Christmas ornaments; thinking of the memories and stories attached to them one more time before they’re being stored in boxes again for a whole year.

Over to you! How do you manage stress during the December month? All advice is welcome! 😉

A little bit of news before I end this long blog.
Behind the scenes we’ve been working on a new website in the past months and it’s live now. Check it out! You’ll find news, pictures, music, videos, blog, tourdates and more!
http://www.robbmurphy.com/
Let us know your thoughts about it! Do you like the website? Is there something missing on the website that you would like to be there? We would love to get your feedback!

One more week before it’s Christmas and I’m looking forward to spending time with my family. Most likely this is the last blog I’m writing this year. A good moment to say thanks! Thank you to all who’ve been reading and sharing the blogs this year and thank you to all who’ve been supporting Robb’s music!

We wish you all a Merry Christmas and all the best for the new year!

Merry Christmas Happy New Year

Leave a comment